Jesse Williams Interview by The Warrior Insider

The 6’5″, 302 pound, 320 bench, 980 leg press Jesse Williams was first invited to watch Lachlan McIntyre’s football practice 2 years ago and immediately gave up basketball for football, as Jesse said:
“Once I watched…I converted to gridiron…and I have never looked back

Football, or gridiron as it is called here, is played at an amateur level across the country, all players pay participation fees to be involved. There are two age divisions – junior (under 18) and senior (over 18). Many of the junior leagues play modified 7 or 9 man football. All football is played under a club structure depending on where you live, but some schools have flag football as part of the curriculum. Football has been played in Queensland, my home state, for 22 years.” (WI)

Jesse plays for the Bayside Ravens (in his home twon) and talked about his friend Lachlan going to UH next year:
“Lachlan was offered to comeback to Hawaii as a walk-on, this is still a huge opportunity for him to go over and play some very high level football, which is what most kids in Australia want and hope for. It would be great to play with Lachlan at UH just because of the friendship we have had throughout my football career“ (WI)

Asked about Hawaii, as he got a chance to visit Hawaii and attend a practice earlier this year, Jesse said:
“Hawaii is such a beautiful place and the football program they have there is great. The school is very nice and laid back, which is good. We did have a chance to meet most of the players, they were all great guys and they really made us feel welcome. Coach Miano recruited me after he came down to the Australian junior Nationals in May this year.” (WI)

Asked to compare Hawaii with his mainland visits, Jesse said:
“During my recent visit to the US Mainland, coaches at BYU were interested, and I have been asked to consider Arizona State as well, but something feels right about UH.” (WI)

Asked what position he wants to play at UH, Jesse said:
“As far as I know the coaches from UH are recruiting me for the Defensive line, my preferred position.” (WI)