Brashton Satele will continue to support the Warriors even though he cannot play this year

About how he will support the team even though he cannot play this year, Brashton Satele (who served as a manager in yesterday’s practice) said:
“I’ll be a part of it. I’m not going to be on the field, but I’m going to support them. That’s all I can do. I can’t be bitter or anything. I can’t do anything about it.” (HA)

“I have to be here for my team. Even if it’s just as a vocal leader, I’m going to be here for them no matter what.” (HSB)

HA Note: “Satele said he was diagnosed with a fractured rotator cuff and a torn labrum in his left shoulder. He will undergo season-ending surgery Aug. 26 in Los Angeles. Satele had been bothered by a subluxed left shoulder last season. He had worn a harness during games. But he opted not to undergo offseason surgery to repair the condition.”

About how he suffered his injury during a 6-on-7 drill Saturday, Brashton said:
“I was trying to make a tackle. I was trying to wrap up, and it popped out.” (HA)

About the pain he immediately felt, Brashton said:
“That was probably the worst, the worst it’s ever been. I just have to get it reconstructed.” (HA)

HA Note: “Satele said he will apply for a medical hardship that will allow him to play as a sixth-year senior in 2010. Satele has a strong case because of the combination of this situation and a shoulder injury in 2005. He redshirted as a freshman based on the injury and not playing performance.”

About the 26 pounds he lost this summer, Brashton said:
“I have no regrets. I put everything I had in the summer. I busted my butt. Now I have to take care of my shoulder. Hopefully, we can get all of this paperwork together, and get another year to play.” (HA)

About taking over as the starting MLB, Mana Lolotai said:
“It’s always hard to see a leader like Brashton get injured. It’s a big spot to fill. I’ve got to make sure I’m mentally and physically prepared to fill his big spot.” (HA)

About how he was projected to play at outside LB when Brashton was the starting MLB, Lolotai said:
“Middle linebacker is my comfortable spot. I feel I’ve worked hard in the offseason, and I’m ready to do what the coaches ask me to do.” (HA)

HSB Note: “Even while facing the possibility that he might have played his last UH game, Satele brought an upbeat presence to the practice field the last two days, helping oversee the linebackers in drills and running with the team at the end of the practices.”

About how the hard work he put in this summer helps him not have any regrets about the injury, Brashton said:
“It hasn’t really bothered me because I have no regrets over what happened, because I put in hard work and I busted my butt every single day this summer. It’s frustrating, but I don’t have any regrets. Nothing’s really bothering me right now. I’m fine with it. I’m just excited to watch these guys play, because I know we’re going to be a good team so I’m just excited for the season.” (HSB)

About how Brashton will still be one of the leaders on their team, Mac said:
“He’s an outstanding player and he assumed the leadership roles of the defense and of the football team. I still think he’s going to be one of the leaders of our football team whether he’s on the field or not.” (HSB)

HSB Note: “Satele said he had a similar injury last season, when he started eight games and posted 53 tackles, but opted not to have surgery at that time. The shoulder caused him problems since then, the latest incident occurring as he tried to make a tackle during a scrimmage last Saturday.”

About how he kept reinjuring the injury he had last season, Brashton said:
“I kept reinjuring it and it just got worse and worse. This time it came out and it didn’t go back in, so that kind of scared me. I had four doctors pulling and yanking on my arm. We met with the doctors, we all came to an agreement, and I talked to Coach about it, and we’re just going to do what’s best for my health and take care of my shoulder. It was just one of those unlucky things. That’s how the game is, one play and you can be done, so you have to play hard.” (HSB)

About how Brashton helps him, Lolotai said:
“Brashton knows the whole defense so it’s good to have him as an extra coach. Whenever something goes wrong, Brashton is right there when we come off the field and tells us what he sees.” (HSB)

About how the team needs Brashton’s experience, Cal Lee said:
“We need his experience. He’s helping us coaching, helping the backup guys, being very supportive to the other linebackers.” (HSB)

About Brashton’s backups Mana Lolotai and Jake Heun, Mac said:
“Mana was competing for (the starting job) and Jake is one of our hardest hitting, hardest working guys. So I have confidence in both those guys.” (HSB)

About how he has to stay in shape and won’t gain the weight back that he lost this summer, Brashton said:
“I cannot go back to where I used to be. I’m going to try to stay at this weight and be ready when the time comes.” (HSB)

http://sports.honoluluadvertiser.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20090819/SPORTS0201/908190338&template=UHsports

http://www.starbulletin.com/sports/sportsnews/20090819_Satele_out_for_season.html

