Warrior Beat Q&A with Demetrius “Doe” Henderson

HA Note: “No list of top UH defensive players would be complete without Demetrius “Doe” Henderson, who started as a true freshman on the 1992 Holiday Bowl championship team. Henderson, who played both corner and safety, has spent the past decade in Las Vegas as a rap performer and producer. He is co-president of Dynasty Records. From the set of “Lincoln Heights,” a show featuring his cousin and Dynasty star Mishon Ratliff, Henderson took a couple of minutes to talk story with the Warrior Beat.
Money player.”

About being called “Doe”, Henderson said:
“I got the (nick)name when I was 2 years old. My mom was saying I loved money. I would always find money around the house.” (HA)

About their 1992 Holiday Bowl season, Henderson said:
“It was a good year, a good experience. The simple fact is we were a team. We had Mainland and local players, and we had camaraderie. We had Jason Elam and Junior Tagoai and Bryan (Addison) and Maa (Tanuvasa) and Darrick (Branch). They kept the camaraderie there. … We had a really good defense. It was just a good team overall. It was great to be part of that. I remember they wanted to redshirt me that year. I didn’t play in the first two games. Then coach (George) Lumpkin came up to me and said, ‘You’re starting.’ It was a shock to me.” (HA)

About being co-President of Dynasty Records, Henderson said:
“I was always into music, even when I was playing. Nobody even knew. I went and bought my first board when I was in Hawai‘i. I taught myself. I was actually rapping. Now I’m more on the business side.” (HA)

About having his cousin Mishon with Dynasty Records, Henderson said:
“Mishon is my little cousin. He plays the son of a cop on Lincoln Heights on ABC Family. He’s a singer, also. On the TV show he also sings. He signed with Dynasty Records. Mishon is the main artist. He has a new single, ‘Just A Kiss.’ You can go to mishon.net.” (HA)

Asked what is the best thing about Hawaii, Henderson said:
“My children. They were all born in Hawai‘i. I have three daughters in Kamehameha. … I never got to appreciate Hawai‘i like I do now. When I go back, I really appreciate Hawai‘i for what it is. My plans are to retire in Hawai‘i one day.” (HA)

http://warriorbeat.honadvblogs.com/2009/07/15/couple-of-minutes-with-doe-henderson/

