JC CB Lametrius Davis commits to the Warriors!

About his commitment to the Warriors, Butte College CB Lametrius Davis said:
“Hawai’i is my choice. I like the coaches, the players and the program. A lot of people think it’s because of the scenery, because it’s Hawai’i. I didn’t make my decision based on the town. I made it based on the program.” (HA)

HA Note: “Davis is 6 feet and 193 pounds. He said he ran 40 yards in 4.38 seconds at the NorCal Junior College Combine the past summer. He has a 36-inch vertical jump, and can dunk a basketball. He was named to the All-Combine first team. He was recruited by Utah, Brigham Young, Oregon State, Washington, Washington State, Boise State and UMass.”

About his recruiting visit this past weekend, where he attended meetings and video sessions,stayed overnight at the team hotel, and went to the game on a team bus, Davis said:
“It was like being a regular member of the team. It was fun.” (HA)

HA Note: “He said he attended the team banquet Sunday night.”

About how he will enroll at UH in January if all of his credits meet UH’s standards, otherwise he’ll enroll at UH in May, Davis said:
“Regardless, I’m going to Hawai’i. And I’m going to be in shape.” (HA)

HA Note: “He said his schedule is split between school work and football. During the offseason, he trains five times a week. He said he will work on three-cone drills and back-pedaling.”

About how he’s always trying to improve himself, Davis said:
“I’m always doing speed drills or lifting weights or watching film. I want to keep improving my football IQ.” (HA)

HA Note: “He did not pick up football until the eighth grade. But because of an injury, he did not play football as a high school freshman or sophomore. He returned for his junior season, placing on the Portland Interscholastic League’s first team as a cornerback and running back He repeated those honors as a senior.”

About how Dowling (who also went to Butte) served as his host during his trip, Davis said:
“I saw film of (Dowling) when he played at Butte. He had a couple of records at Butte. I didn’t really know him, but I knew of him.” (HA)

About UH’s coaches, Davis said:
“The coaches are down to earth. I got along with them.” (HA)

