Feature article on Sol Elimimian

AO = Arbiter Online (BSU’s student newspaper)

AO Note: “Elimimian, originally from Nigeria, grew up in Los Angeles and first began playing football during his freshman year at Crenshaw High School. He enjoyed a successful prep career that hit its stride during his senior year, when he amassed 125 tackles and 9.5 sacks, while being named to the all-league, all-city, all-area and all-region first teams, to the all-state second team and the MVP of the Coliseum League. For Elimimian, though, those awards could not compare to the moment he signed with the University of Hawai’i to play football. He considers signing with UH his greatest accomplishment as a high school player.”

About how he prayed for direction in choosing which college he should choose, but was filled with questions and doubt when he felt an urge to sign with UH, Sol said:
“[Coming to UH] wasn’t the decision that I really wanted, but it was the decision that God had for me.” (AO)

AO Note: “Elimimian didn’t understand why UH was placed in his heart and was not completely settled on coming across the Pacific to play football, further his education and live for the next four years. Despite the questions and doubt, however, he eventually reaped the benefits of being in the right place at the right time.”

About being a leader on the team, Sol said:
“[Being a leader] is not a question about talent, it’s about letting God work through me, being a light and encouraging my team. We have a lot of young guys, and I’ve been here for four years. I’m not worried about my stats. I’m worried about being the best leader I can be.” (AO)

About the people who doubt them, Sol said:
“We have so many doubters who feel we will be below .500. But I don’t agree with that at all, and I feel like we can go to a bowl game and win the WAC Championship once more with the guys and the coaching staff we have.” (AO)

About his choice to go to UH, Sol said:
“I didn’t see it back in high school when I was thinking about what college I was going to go to. But basically, God was like ‘come here’ and it worked out great.” (AO)

“God placed me here for a reason. I cannot fail.” (AO)

