Injury update for Tyler, Rocky and Fale

Mac said that Tyler Graunke will miss the Boise State game because he is:
“physically not able to perform, in my opinion.” (HA)

About how he’s expecting to need season-ending surgery, Rocky Savaiigaea said that after today’s exam:
“I’ll find out, guaranteed. I’m disappointed, but I didn’t get my hopes too high. This was the week I wanted to come back. This was Boise. Every game is important, and we treat every game like a championship, but Boise is the top of the tops.” (HA)

HA Note: “Savaiigaea said he was told surgery will require a rehabilitation period of up to six months. He said it would take two to three months before he could resume weight training.”

About the importance of having the surgery early enough to be able to participate in spring training, Rocky said:
“We’re looking long term.” (HA)

Mac said that Rocky would have helped in their DT rotation, but:
“we didn’t want to risk injuring (the triceps) again. He has a good future in football. He needs to repair (the triceps). We’ll get him the best surgeon.” (HA)

About how he hasn’t let his injuries (Right knee and right ankle) get him down, Fale Laeli said:
“When you’re injured, you do what you can do. You can’t really do anything, but you can pump these guys up and pray that they do good.” (HA)

About not getting to play much this year, Laeli said:
“It’s tough, to come from last year to this year, from playing to not playing, and going through everything I’m going through.” (HA)

About the motivation he got from a talk with a teammate, Laeli said:
“One of the guys told me when I was in rehab, ‘You need a straw?’ I was like, ‘What for?’ He said, ‘To suck it up.’ I was like, ‘All right, I’ll take that.’ I need to suck things up. Sometimes in life, when things are hard, you have to find ways in life to motivate yourself, and do it.” (HA)

About how he will earn a bachelor’s degree in December, Laeli said:
“If you get your degree, you have something to fall back on. I give God all of the honor and glory. I thank God I’m about to graduate.” (HA)

