Quotes from the local papers

About how playing for UH this season will cost him a few thousan dollars, Francis Maka said:
“It’s worth it.” (HA)

HA Note: “Maka, who transferred to UH in January 2007, was on football scholarship last season. After his first appeal to the NCAA was denied the past spring, Maka was offered a position as student manager for this season. The manager’s position came with a tuition waiver and stipend equal to the value of a football scholarship. But when the NCAA ruled in favor of his appeal, Maka, in order to rejoin the Warriors, had to relinquish his manager’s scholarship. The Warriors, meanwhile, had given Maka’s football scholarship to running back Daniel Libre. They do not have any available scholarships.”

About paying for his school and living expenses, Maka said:
“Right now I’m not on scholarship. I would have received a player’s scholarship if I received the word earlier (from the NCAA). But then (the Warriors) gave away the last (football) scholarship to Libre, which I think he deserves. He’s a great player. By me playing, I can’t be on the manager’s scholarship.” (HA)

About how the opportunity to place is worth the money he will lose, Maka said:
“If I look back on it, I’d pay a lot of money to get my year back. Just to have a chance to play again, I’m ecstatic.” (HA)

Praising Maka, Mac said:
“I tell you he’s got one of the best attitudes of any player I’ve ever coached. He just wanted it so bad. He’s really taken care of the details. … He’s done all of the right things. He’s very intelligent. He’ll be able to get his degree, and have fun playing football at the same time. I couldn’t be happier for him.” (HA)

About how Maka will make their travel roster and get some time at DE and special teams, Mac said:
“He’s a great pass rusher. He’s a player.” (HA)

About how he earned a scholarship because of his academic progress, Daniel Libre said:
“I got back on course, you could say, and (McMackin) rewarded me for it.” (HA)

About how he struggled in school last year while trying to balance football, school, and work, Libre said:
“I was working a lot, trying to help out my dad financially.” (HA)

HA Note: “After initially being denied a scholarship during the summer, Libre managed to find “an equilibrium, I guess.””

About how Libre had to show that he could graduate before he could go on scholarship, Mac said:
“He needed to show me that he could graduate, and that he wanted to graduate. I’m not giving anybody a scholarship unless (he is) committed to getting (his) degree. That’s the most important thing. You can only play football for so many years. But a degree helps you your entire life. That’s really important to the program and to me.” (HA)

Note: It isn’t just academics that Mac has to look at–players on scholarship who do not graduate will cost UH in their APR, which will cost UH scholarships in the future. So, Mac could not give Libre a scholarship if he wasn’t going to graduate because that would have hurt the team.

About how he suffered an injured knee when he ran for the football after UH blocked a punt in the La Tech game, Victor Clore said:
“I guess me and some other guy’s leg got tangled up. He hit me on my knee.” (HA)

Asked for when he could return, Clore said:
“Definitely not this week.” (HA)

About how he’s hoping to be able to play despite missing most of training camp and the first 3 games because of a partially torn left triceps and suffering *another* tear in a different part of his left triceps, Rocky Savaiigaea said:
“I’m running around trying to practice this week, seeing how it feels. It’s torn, but you know me. Anything is possible. I’m going to throw on some pads (today and tomorrow), and I’ll see how it feels. Nothing is guaranteed but anything is possible.” (HA)

“I’m going to test it out,” Savaiigaea said. “I still have to see how it feels against pads. I’m going to really try to hit and see how it goes.” (HSB)

About his latest triceps injury, Rocky said:
“It’s not as major as the first one, but it’s still a tear.” (HSB)

HSB Note: “Though he took some repetitions at tackle yesterday, Savaiigaea said whether he’ll be available for the Warriors’ game at Boise State on Friday is uncertain and rated the ache in his arm as “bearable.” He practiced with his arm heavily wrapped and said he plans to try a customized brace.”

About how he didn’t deserve his unsportsmanlike penalty, Jett Jasper said that while on the receiving unit for an on-side kick:
“I got pushed from behind by another player. I started getting pushed from all sides. I think (the officials) thought I started something or said something. But I got pushed around like a pinball. (The Louisiana Tech) sideline started yelling at me. It was a big miscommunication for the refs. I did not curse or use foul language.” (HA)

About how Salas said something to him as they left the huddle in the second-quarter with the score tied, Inoke said:
“He was like, ‘If you don’t see anything just put it up there and I’m going to go get it for you.’ ” (HSB)

HSB Note: “With Funaki’s first option — a short route to slotback Aaron Bain — covered, Salas’ words echoed in his mind and he put his trust in the sophomore wide receiver in firing a pass to the corner of the end zone. Sure enough, Salas rewarded Funaki by outdueling his defender to pull down the throw for the go-ahead score and the Warriors went on to a 24-14 victory.”

About what he said to Inoke, Salas said:
“I just told him he can trust me. We do it all the time in practice and it finally carried over to the game.” (HSB)

About facing BSU, Salas said:
“It’s not going to be easy, but we’re looking forward to it. These are the kinds of games you want to play in so I’m just looking forward to the opportunity.” (HSB)

About how Salas is able to use his body to get catches, Ron Lee said:
“He knows how to use his body to position himself. He’s 6-2 and can jump and he’s got great hands. We just have to get him the ball.” (HSB)

About how he’s grateful for Salas’ excellent play, Inoke said:
“I thank him all the time. ‘Thanks Greg for making that big catch, you’re making me look good out there. I appreciate it.’ It’s a big catch in the game and it was the first time for maybe a lot of the people of Hawaii to see him make a catch like that. But it’s not a big surprise he made that type of play in a game because we’ve seen him make even more amazing catches than that in practice.” (HSB)

About how the broken bone in his left hand (suffered in the first quarter of their first game this season) has healed and might have actually had some benefit for him, Salas said:
“It made me catch the ball better now, more concentration. If I can catch the ball with one hand, now I’ve got two.” (HSB)

About how the playing surface at the Ching Complex (formerly known as Cooke Field) is expected to be completed shortly after the season, barring delays, JD said:
“early to mid-December. If there’s any underground damage that has to be fixed, that’s the big issue.” (HSB)

HSB Note: “Loeffler wasn’t much of a football fan growing up and initially resisted his dad’s insistence that he try out for the Hilo High team as a freshman. But he gave the game a shot “and I loved it,” he said.”

HSB Note: “The 6-foot-5, 265-pound Loeffler plays on both sides of the line of scrimmage, though he spends most of his time at offensive tackle, and credited former Hilo coach Albert Kawelu for putting him on track toward playing college ball as a sophomore. He said he first started hearing from UH coaches after participating in a camp in Honokaa.”

About choosing UH over other schools that expressed interest in him, Loeffler said:
“I gotta have my rice.” (HSB)

