Archive for May 15th, 2007

Quotes from Nate on the last day of the Eagles minicamp

May 15, 2007

http://www.mcall.com/sports/columnists/all-col-jones.5849354may15,0,869338.column

About how he adjusted pretty easily to the environment of the minicamp, Nate said:
”That [previous experience] kind of helps,” he acknowledged Monday afternoon, on the last day of the Birds’ minicam. Meeting people and things like that, that’s no problem. Anything you do [for the first time] is going to be tough at first, but I’ve been through it a lot, so I know what to expect.” (Morning Call online)

Nate said that he spent the minicamp:
”trying to break old habits” (Morning Call online)

Note: Nate was referring to learning new names for plays he ran in college.

About the increased speed at the NFL level, Nate said:
“In college, you’re able to get away with a couple players being real fast, but out here, everyone’s fast. Even the coaches are fast.” (Morning Call online)

MC Note: “Speed is an issue; his 40 times topped out in the 4.7 range in the months leading up to the draft, something that might improve if he follows through on his plan to shed a few pounds.

Listed at 180 when he committed to Hawaii — and also listed, curiously, at 5-10 — he routinely played at 245 there, and was very productive in the Warriors’ run-and-shoot offense. He accumulated 1,827 all-purpose yards last year (990 on the ground and 837 on 67 receptions), and finished his career with 3,383 yards from scrimmage.”

About how he needs to lose weight, Nate said:
“Everything’s up another level. I’ve got to do something to get onto that level, and I think losing weight and getting into tip-top shape is going to help me to do that.” (Morning Call online)

Note: I’m glad that Nate knows this, because he’s not guaranteed a roster spot and reporting to Eagles camp at 254 pounds really damages his pro potential. If he doesn’t get that under control fast, he’ll quickly lose his shot at the NFL. They aren’t going to wait for him to lose weight and prod him like JJ did, they will just cut him and go to the next guy. Nate said in his interview that his injuries prevented him from losing weight while he was at UH, but now he doesn’t have to worry about school and isn’t mentioning any injuries, so there is no excuse for not being in NFL shape.

Nice comment about Ikaika from Brian DeLucia’s blog

May 15, 2007

http://community.foxsports.com/blogs/briandelucia

Rod Marinelli has a new pet project in Ikaika Alama-Francis at defensive end. He’s raw, but has all the attributes to become a productive pass rusher in the Lions’ scheme on defense. Marinelli, who is also known as one of the top defensive line teachers in the game believes in his ability to mold Alama-Francis into an impact player off the perimeter.

More on Colt speaking out

May 15, 2007

Happy with the progress that has been made since he spoke about the soap situation, Colt said:
“Think about the difference already. We’ve got soap dispensers, donated. A year’s supply of soap, donated. The whole community’s been great. The whole reaction from the people who matter, teachers and students, make me feel good about what I did.” (HSB)

About raising money for an endowment for football scholarships, especially from former Warriors now in the NFL, JJ said:
“Some of the players are putting that in their contracts. We’re in the process of setting up a fund like USC and a lot of the other major schools do, scholarship endowments.” (HSB)

“We’ve talked to all of them and we’re all waiting for it to be put in place. Pretty much all the players and their agents are in the mode of doing that.” (HSB)

HSB Note: I’ve been wondering why former UH players weren’t doing that already. I so glad to know that some are already putting that into their contracts and that UH will set up a fund to make it easier for them to give back!

Vince Baldemor, president af Ahahui Koa Anuenue (the UH booster club) said that athletes could always donate toward endowments, but now there is a focus on football-specific donations:
“It’s a concerted effort that’s still in development now.” (HSB)

About how Warrior alumni would be much more inclined to donate if they knew it was going towards football scholarships, future multi-millionaire Colt said:
“Obviously I’m far away from that and I’ve got to worry about my senior year and I don’t have any money yet. But if I get in that position I would be thrilled to do it. I plan on giving back to Hawaii financially, and I’m excited about something where I know the money would be going where I want it.” (HSB)

Backing up Colt for speaking out, JJ said:
“Any publicity is positive. Colt’s one of the greatest kids I’ve ever been around. The message he was trying to send was a positive one. I’m proud of him for voicing what he said. No one ever comes because of the facilities. They come because of the people, the place, the ohana. That’s why I came back. Everything (Brennan) says is going to be magnified and he has to learn to live with that.” (HSB)

About how their poor facilities have been discussed for years, JJ said:
“We’ve had this discussion many times before. We have upgraded, but we have a long way to go.” (HSB)

About the reaction from the community has been great, Colt said:
“It was never about me. I wanted to speak up for people who can’t speak up. I don’t have a complaint about Hawaii. The school and everybody there has been great to me. But I know I have a political presence and I thought I could help the situation, especially for my teammates and future players. Hawaii’s treated me like a prince, a son. The community reaction has been great, the best you could expect. I’m just happy that people are willing to make a difference, making donations. I wanted to bring some light to what is holding Hawaii back.” (HSB)

About attending summer school so that he can graduate in the Fall, Colt said:
“I can get some courses out of the way that will help me graduate in the fall (in communications).” (HSB)

Note: I really am happy that Colt will be going to summer school, as most NFL-bound players would not bother with that and not be too concerned about their degree. Colt is showing a commitment to education that is admirable to me. Also, from a UH perspective, Colt graduating early frees up a scholarship that can be given out in January 2008 and really helps out for their APR. So many other athletes drafted in the top 2 rounds leave school after the Fall semester and do not finish their degrees because they have all of the draft preparation to do…but that hurts their school’s APR and eventually costs scholarships.

HSB Note: “Later this summer he will work as a counselor at two football camps. The Elite 11 camp in the Laguna Beach, Calif., area is for the top 11 high school quarterbacks in the nation. Brennan is one of 11 top college quarterbacks, including Louisville’s Jeff Brohm and USC’s Josh Booty, serving as counselors. Brennan is also scheduled to work a camp on the North Shore this summer.”

Note: Having Colt be around the top 11 high school QBs can do wonders for UH recruiting a big name HS QB this year! Having him do a camp on the North Shore also could do wonders for UH’s local recruiting!